

MBTA ADVISORY BOARD MEETING MINUTES

April 7, 2023 10:00 AM via Zoom

- A. Call to order, Pledge of Allegiance, and Moment of Silence: Mayor Koch (Quincy) called the meeting to order with a quorum present and voting at 10AM. He led the body in the Pledge of Allegiance and a moment of silence.
- B. **December 13, 2022 Meeting Minutes**: Josh Ostroff (Natick) moved to approve the minutes as presented. Colette Aufranc (Wellesley) seconded this motion, which was approved unanimously.
- C. MBTA CIP Presentation: Ms. Jillian Linnell, MBTA Sr. Director of Capital Program Planning presented the MBTA's FY24-28 draft Capital Improvement Program. Following this, the Chair led questions and answers. Questions about the Ashland CR station were asked by Rob Scherer (Ashland). Steve Olanoff (Westwood) asked about rail electrification. Susan Barrett (Lexington) asked about fare transformation. John Ostroff (Natick) asked about prioritization. Alan Slavin (Wareham) asked about rail to Bourne. Roy Epstein (Belmont) asked about documents being provided in advance, especially dense ones. S. Barrett also asked about shortfalls in safety and reliability funding. Following all questions and answers, the Chair requested a motion to refer this matter to the CIP Committee with a charge to report back at the next meeting. J. Ostroff made such a motion and John DePreist (Chelsea) seconded it. This motion was approved unanimously, and it was referred.
- D. Climate & Clean Energy Report: S. Barrett presented a recent report completed by the committee in conjunction with the Conservation Law Foundation on the topic of bus electrification, along with a letter from the Committee with a request to accept the report and the letter as the official position of the MBTA Advisory Board. Following this, S. Barrett moved to



accept the report. Susanne Rasmussen (Cambridge) seconded this motion. R. Epstein asked about the MBTA's policy of electrification. He is concerned about the T undertaking 3 major projects simultaneously, and instead focus on 1 major project instead. He also asked for additional discussion on this topic. B. Kane responded in agreement and that the report and letter broadly agree as well. Following answers to this, the motion was approved unanimously, and the report and the letter were accepted and endorsed.

- E. Financial Policy, Reserve/Investment Policy, Proposed CY2023 Budget These 3 items were taken together as they are related. C. Aufranc, Chair of the Budget & Audit Committee presented these matters on behalf of the committee. She mentioned that the organization has taken about a year working on these, and that they are derived from the Strategic Review. Following Ms. Aufranc's presentation, she moved to accept the 2 policies and the internal budget as presented. J. DePriest seconded this motion, which was approved unanimously and without additional discussion.
- F. Old/New Business: Stella Jordan from the Boston Regional Metropolitan Planning Organization briefly discussed the upcoming MPO plans and process under development including the LRTP. She requested members to provide comments at meetings and to also take the public survey that is currently online. B. Kane reminded members that he and Amira Patterson represents them on the MPO and asked for their feedback, and support in ensuring that he speaks clearly on their behalf.
- G. **Next Meeting**: May 16, 2023 via Zoom. J. Ostroff moved to adjourn, which was approved without objection. Adjourned at 10:52AM.

Note: These minutes were approved by vote of the body at the May 16, 2023 MBTA Advisory Board meeting.



Abington		Framingham	
Acton	David Martin	Franklin	
Amesbury		Freetown	
Andover		Georgetown	
Arlington	Lenard Diggins	Gloucester	Hon. Greg Varga
Ashburnham		Grafton	
Ashby		Groton	
Ashland	Rob Scherer	Groveland	
Attleboro		Halifax	
Auburn		Hamilton	
Ayer		Hanover	Jim Hoyes
Bedford	Margot Fleischman	Hanson	
Bellingham		Harvard	Bruce Leicher
Belmont	Roy Epstein	Haverhill	
Berkley		Hingham	
Beverly		Holbrook	
Billerica		Holden	
Boston	Richard McGuinness	Holliston	
Bourne		Hopkinton	
Boxborough		Hull	
Boxford		Ipswich	
Braintree		Kingston	Kim Emberg
Bridgewater		Lakeville	
Brockton	Alan Castaline	Lancaster	
Brookline		Lawrence	
Burlington	Brian White	Leicester	
Cambridge	Susanne Rasmussen	Leominster	
Canton		Lexington	Susan Barrett
Carlisle		Lincoln	
Carver		Littleton	
Chelmsford		Lowell	
Chelsea	John DePriest	Lunenburg	
Cohasset	Corey Evans	Lynn	Aaron Clausen
Concord	,	Lynnfield	
Danvers		Malden	
Dedham		Manchester	
Dover		Mansfield	
Dracut		Marblehead	
Duxbury	Brian Glennon	Marlborough	
East Bridgewater		Marshfield	
Easton		Maynard	Chester Osborn
Essex		Medfield	
Everett		Medford	Breanna Lungo-Koehn
Fitchburg		Medway	
Foxborough		Melrose	
. CASCIOUSII	1	1	I



Merrimac	Bill Andrulitis	Sharon	
Methuen		Sherborn	
Middleborough		Shirley	
Middleton		Shrewsbury	
Millbury		Somerville	
Millis		Southborough	
Milton		Sterling	
Nahant		Stoneham	Raymie Parker
Natick	Josh Ostroff	Stoughton	
Needham	Duncan Allen	Stow	
Newbury		Sudbury	
Newburyport		Sutton	
Newton	Jason Sobel	Swampscott	
Norfolk		Taunton	
North Andover		Tewksbury	
N. Attleborough		Topsfield	
North Reading	Lil Hartman	Townsend	
Northborough		Tyngsborough	
Northbridge		Upton	
Norton		Watertown	
Norwell	Andy Reardon	Wayland	Chet Osbourne
Norwood	Joe Collins	Wakefield	
Paxton		Walpole	
Peabody		Waltham	
Pembroke		Wareham	Alan Slavin
Plymouth		Wellesley	Colette Aufranc
Plympton		Wenham	
Princeton		West Boylston	
Quincy	Hon. Thomas Koch		
	Frank Tramontozzi	W. Bridgewater	Adam Linn
Randolph		West Newbury	
Raynham		Westborough	
Reading		Westford	
Rehoboth		Westminster	
Revere		Weston	C: 01 "
Rochester		Westwood	Steven Olanoff
Rockland		Weymouth	Owen MacDonald
Rockport		Whitman	
Rowley		Wilmington	
Salem		Winchester	
Salisbury		Winthrop	
Saugus		Woburn	Tina Cassidy
Scituate	Karen Canfield	Worcester	Todd Kirrane
Seekonk		Wrentham	